

CE DEUTSCHE GESELLSCHAFT FÜR ELEKTRONENMIKROSKOPIE

(eingetragener Verein) http://www.dge-homepage.de

Press Release

17. Jul. 2015

Ernst Ruska Prize 2015 for Jim Zuo, John Briggs, and Jürgen Plitzko

The German Society for Electron Microscopy (Deutsche Gesellschaft für Elektronenmikroskopie, DGE) awards the internationally renowned Ernst-Ruska-Prize to **Prof. Dr. Jian-Min (Jim) Zuo** (University of Illinois, USA) and jointly to **Dr. John Briggs** (European Molecular Laboratory, Heidelberg) and **Prof. Dr. Jürgen Plitzko** (Max-Planck-Institut für Biochemie, München) for their outstanding scientific achievements related to electron microscopy. The prize will be awarded at the opening ceremony of the microscopy conference MC2015 in Göttingen, on September 7th.

Jim Zuo receives the price for the improvement of electron diffraction techniques and analysis. His work not only increases our knowledge on atomic and sub-atomic structure of materials but also paved the way for further achievements in understanding materials. John Briggs and Jürgen Plitzko are awarded for their contribution to cryo-electron microscopy of biological objects. Their work fostered the analysis of subcellular structures and macromolecular assemblies by the development of numerous tools and by their application to relevant biological questions.

The **Ernst Ruska Prize** is named after the Nobel Prize winner and inventor of the electron microscope, Prof. Dr. Ernst August Friedrich Ruska. The prize is awarded by the German Society for Electron Microscopy every two years for outstanding achievements in the field of electron microscopy.

The President of the German Society for Electron Microscopy

Dr. Michael Laue Nordufer 20 Robert Koch-Institut D-13353 Berlin <u>lauem@rki.de</u> ++49(0)30 18754 2675